The Standing Committee on Public Accounts is a Legislature Committee established in terms of the provision of Rule 184 of the Standing Rules of the Legislature. It is accountable to the Committee of Chairpersons, the Office of the Chairperson of Committees and the House.

The Committee exists in order to deliver on the following constitutional mandate assigned to the Legislature:
1. Performing oversight by considering the annual financial statements of provincial departments, public entities, any reports issued by the Auditor-General on the financial statements of provincial departments, public entities and any other financial statements or reports (regularity, forensic or internal audit) referred to the Committee in terms of the Rules;
2. Law making; and
3. Involving the public in committee and legislative processes.

Priority areas identified by the Committee, which it will monitor this financial year:
• Follow up on responses to all transversal resolutions in monthly meetings of the Committee in order to make progress in eliminating these audit findings from the audit reports:;
• Irregular, unauthorised and fruitless and wasteful expenditure;
• Policies on information technology;
• Material misstatements of the Annual Financial Statements;
• Use of consultants
• Handling of conflict of interests;
• Financial disclosures;
• Implementation of cost-cutting measures;
• Keeping of up to date asset registers;
• Signing of performance agreements;
• Recurring audit findings;
• Implementation of recommendations and commitments made to the A-G;
• Delays in filling critical vacant posts;
• Follow-up to ensure that action is taken against those officials who fail to address the audit findings or who are responsible for new audit findings.
• Implementation of consequence management

Response to SCOPA 2022-2023 Regularity Audit

Social Development




          Public Works and Human Settlements

            EDTEA Entities


              Hon. M Tembe

              Deputy Speaker

              Hon. AT Ntuli

              KZN PREMIER

              Hon. KM Zondi

              MEC - EDTEA

              Hon. M Khawula

              MEC - ARTS, CULTURE, SPORT

              Hon. TP Madlopha-Mthethwa

              MEC - AGRICULTURE

              Hon. SA Duma


              Hon. SE Hlomuka

              MEC - EDUCATION

              Hon. N Simelane

              MEC - HEALTH

              Hon. FA Rodgers

              MEC - FINANCE

              Hon. LM Meyer


              Hon. CM Shinga


              Hon. NNG Mahlaba

              Chairperson of Chairpersons

              Hon. OB Kunene

              Deputy Chairperson of Chairpersons

              Hon. HGS Mavimbela

              ANC Chief Whip

              Hon. CQ Madlopha

              ANC Deputy Chief Whip

              Hon. AC Biyela

              Chair: Human Settlements

              Hon. T Brauteseth

              Chair: SCOPA

              Hon. PATN Buthelezi

              Chair: Education