Hon. JS Nxumalo - Chief Whip
Hon. VP Caluza - Deputy Chief Whip

The Office of the Chief Whip was established to give administrative support to political office bearers, i.e. the Chief Whip of the Legislature, as well as Whips of other political parties represented in the KZN Legislature, and to provide a link between the Executive Council and the KZN Legislature through the Office of the Leader of Government Business.

In support of the Legislature vision of being a people-centered, activist Legislature which seeks to deepen democracy and activism in KwaZulu-Natal through robust oversight, effective public participation and efficient law-making; the Office of the Chief Whip drafts and ensures the implementation of the Legislature’s programme of sittings.

The Office of the Chief Whip is also responsible for constituency and outreach programmes which aim to intensify robust oversight and effective public participation.

By co-ordinating briefings to the Legislature, the Office of the Chief Whip also ensures interaction between various Chapter 9 institutions, such as the Office of the Public Protector, the Office of the Auditor-General, the Public Service Commission, the Independent Electoral Commission, et cetera.

Whips of the KZN Legislature are represented in the Whips’ Forum which was established in terms of Standing Rule 166 of the Standing Rules of the KZN Legislature.

Contact Details
Manager: Office of the Chief Whip

Mrs. Sindisiwe Tembe
244 Langalibalele Street, Pietermaritzburg
Email: TembeS@kznleg.gov.za
Tel : 033 355 7659
Fax : 033 355 7768

Executive Secretary to the Chief Whip

Ms Ntombizethu Nyawose
244 Langalibalele Street, Pietermaritzburg
Email: nyawosen@kznleg.gov.za
Tel : 033 355 7755