Hon. NN Boyce - Speaker
Hon. RT Mthembu - Deputy Speaker

The Office of the Speaker is an overarching designation which includes both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the KwaZulu-Natal Legislature.

According to Standing Rule 13 of the Standing Rules of the KZN Legislature, the Speaker is responsible for the political management of the Legislature. He/she must, as the political head of the Legislature, safeguard the independence of the Legislature as a separate arm of government and maintain the integrity of the Legislature. The Speaker is the spokesperson for the Legislature in its relations with the other arms of government, and with external institutions and persons. In representing the Legislature, the Speaker is responsible to the Legislature and all its members and must ensure that the Standing Rules are observed.

As the chief presiding officer, he/she must preside over the House and ensure that meetings of the House are conducted in an orderly manner and in accordance with the Constitution and the Standing Rules. He/she must protect freedom of speech and debate in the House and its committees and ensure the facilitation of public involvement and participation in the legislative and other processes of the Legislature.

The Speaker is also the treasurer of the Legislature and is accountable to the Legislature for the management and performance of the Legislature. He/she must monitor and oversee the legislative process and procedures and ensure that the Legislature complies with its constitutional obligations, including, but not limited to the carrying out of its oversight function over the provincial executive organs of state. The Speaker must discharge his/her responsibilities in an impartial manner.

Contact Details
Manager: Office of the Speaker

Mr. Bongani Tembe
244 Langalibalele Street, Pietermaritzburg
Email: TembeB@kznleg.gov.za
Tel : 033 355 7783

Executive Secretary to the Speaker

Ms Dintle Mamonyane
244 Langalibalele Street, Pietermaritzburg
Email: mamonyaned@gmail.com
Tel : 033 355 7689