The Portfolio Committee on Education is a Legislature Committee established in terms of the provision of Rule 180 of the Standing Rules of the Legislature. It is accountable to the Committee of Chairpersons and the House.

The Committee exists to deliver on the following constitutional mandate of the Legislature:
1. Performing oversight over KwaZulu-Natal Department of Education;
2. Law making; and
3. Involving the public in committee and legislative processes.

The AOP represents the key activities that this committee will undertake in fulfilling its mandate.


Hon. SM Sonjica

Chairperson: Education

Hon. LXH Hlongwa-Madlala

Chairperson: STACOV

Hon. BN Mthethwa

Chairperson: Sport, Arts and Culture

Hon. M Shinga

Leader of the NFP & Whip of minority parties
Page Count [pvcp_1]