The Portfolio Committee on Conservation and Environmental Affairs is a Legislature Committee established in terms of the provision of Rule 180 of the Standing Rules of the Legislature. It is accountable to the Committee of Chairpersons, Office of the Chairperson of Committees and the House.

The Committee exists in order to deliver on the following constitutional mandate assigned to the Legislature:
1. Performing oversight over the environmental affairs function (Programme 7) of the Department of Economic Development, Tourism & Environmental Affairs (EDTEA) and Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife.
2. Law making; and
3. Involving the public in committee and legislative processes.

The AOP represents the key activities that this committee will undertake in fulfilling its mandate.
The priorities listed below fulfill a dual purpose. In certain instances, they form part of the activities undertaken by the committee (e.g. Site Visits). In other instances, they serve as a basis for the committee to prioritise the manner in which it analyses information received the department (e.g. analysis of draft APPs, quarter reports or annual reports).

Annexure H Ezemvelo Presentation: 04 May 2020

Final EDTEA Portfolio Committees: 04 May 2020

Meeting Agenda: 05 May 2020


Hon. SW Mshengu

Chair: Conservation and Environmental Affairs

Hon. S Thakur-Rajbansi

Leader of the MF

Hon. MA Chiliza

Chair: Community Safety

Hon. NN Sibhidla-Saphetha

Chair: Agriculture and Rural Development

Hon. JS Nxumalo

Chair: Economic Development & Tourism

Hon. N Ntombela

Chair: Standing Committee on Oversight

Hon. EV Dube

Chair: Transport
Page Count [pvcp_1]