Multiparty Women’s Caucus – Functions and Powers

The Multiparty Women’s Caucus derives its mandate from Rule 180 A of the KZN Legislature.

It acts as an advisory, influencing and consultative body by:
1. Representing the interests of and concerns of women members of the Legislature;
2. Promoting the discussion of women issues in the Legislature;
3. Making submissions to the Standing Committee on Quality of Life and Status of Women, Children, Youth and Disabled Persons on the improvement of the quality of life and status of women, either at the request of the Standing Committee or at its own initiative;
4. Introducing a woman’s perspective and focus in Legislature activities, including the programming of debates;
5. Engaging on developmental and empowerment issues with women in political structures outside the Legislature and women members of parliaments and legislatures internationally; and
6. Considering any other matter within its mandate referred to it by the House.

The MPWC further incorporates the work of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP).

CWP Strategic Objectives 2016-2020

1. Development of structures, rules and Guidelines for CWP;
2. Increase of women representation and involvement;
3. Empowerment of women;
4. Improved monitoring of implementation of International and regional instruments; and
5. Reduction of social, cultural and religious practices that are harmful to women.


Hon. CQ Madlopha

Chairperson: Premier

Hon. NN Boyce

Speaker - Chairperson: Programme Committee & Rules Committee

Hon. N Dube-Ncube

Premier - KwaZulu-Natal

Hon. NP Nkonyeni

MEC – Finance

Hon. N Simelane

MEC – Health

Hon. MC Frazer

MEC – Education

Hon. NM Khoza

MEC – Social Development

Hon. JN Cele

ANC Whip

Hon. PH Mbatha-Cele

Chairperson: Quality of Life and Status of Women, Children, Youth and Disabled Persons

Hon. ZLI Cele

Chairperson: COGTA

Hon. M Govender

Chairperson: SCOPA

Hon. LXH Hlongwa-Madlala

Chairperson: STACOV

Hon. NR Majola

Chairperson: Health

Hon. NN Sibhidla-Saphetha

Chairperson: Agriculture and Rural Development

Hon. GN Swartbooi-Ntombela

Chairperson: Social Development

Hon. RZP Zulu

Chairperson: Public Participation & Petitions Committee

Hon. MPP Zungu

Chairperson: Public Works

Hon. M Shinga

Leader of the NFP & Whip of minority parties

Hon. S Thakur-Rajbansi

Leader of the MF