The Standing Committee of Quality of Life is a Legislature Committee established in terms of the provision of Rule 189 of the Standing Rules of the Legislature. It is accountable to the Committee of Chairpersons, Office of the Chairperson of Committees and the House.

The Committee exists in order to deliver on the following constitutional mandate assigned to the Legislature:
1. Ensuring adherence to Chapter 2 of the Constitution by Government and employers and attainment of rights and freedoms stipulated therein by All South Africans and those who live in South Africa (KwaZulu-Natal);
2. Performing oversight over Office of the Premier (Democracy Support Services Chief Directorates and Youth Directorate) and its use of financial and other resources; 3. Performing oversight over government departments and other employers on issues of Human Rights and freedoms;
4. Interacting with any other social structure on issues impacting on quality of life of the vulnerable groups;
5. Law-making; and
6. Involving the public in committee and legislative processes.

The AOP represents the key activities that committee will undertake in fulfilling its mandate.
The priorities listed below fulfill a dual purpose. In certain instances, they form part of the activities undertaken by the committee (e.g. Site Visits). In other instances, they serve as a basis for the committee to prioritise the manner in which it analyses information received the Office of the Premier (e.g. analysis of draft APPs, quarter reports or annual reports).


Hon. PH Mbatha-Cele

Chair: Quality of Life

Hon. TV Xulu

ANC Whip

Hon. SW Mshengu

Chair: Conservation and Environmental Affairs

Hon. NB Mthethwa

Chair: Community Safety

Hon. GN Swartbooi-Ntombela

Chair: Social Development

Hon. SE Manqele

Leader of the ACDP
Page Count
Hits: 312